The 157.75 Million Dollar Man

So the Rockies went out and signed their marquee shortstop, Troy Tulowitzki, to a huge megadeal.  They locked him up for an entire decade.  Good god, I’ll be thirty when his contracts over with.  Tulo’s a great player.  But is he worth a 10 year contract?  I vote, absolutely not.  Don’t get me wrong, I think tying down your franchise shortstop for a while is the best thing you can do.  But 10 years?  Tulo? David Archuleta?  See you in 5 years, when he’s a 29 year old shortstop hitting .270 and jacking 30 homeruns for the last place Rockies…as the fans are cursing and yelling at their recently fired GM for giving away 95% of their payroll to one guy.  This isn’t New York, homie, you need to fill out a whole roster.  Good luck re-signing all those young and sexy pitchers you have in that farm system.  Guaranteed last or second to last division finish next year.  Mark it down.

The one thing this does create, however, is more bargaining for Derek Jeter.  “Hey, I’m Derek Jeter.  I used to be good.  My fielding percentage is really high because I don’t have the range to get to half the balls other shortstops can get to.  Give me all your money!”  Get a grip, Derek.  You aren’t the player you were and you’ll never be back there.  The Yankees gave you a legit offer.  Get over yourself….that being said, I would love to see the Sox sign him.  Not talent wise.  Just something to spice up the rivalry.  Whatever.  I hope Cashman doesn’t cave in.  Weirdo.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

