What a Shame

So I just finished watching the movie “61” for the first time in a few years, and I felt compelled to write a little something.  First off, this movie is great.  I love watching movies that take place in the 60’s.  Everything back then seems so much cooler.  Okay, on to the important stuff.  It’s amazing what steroids have done to this movie.  Albeit, it was made AFTER McGwire broke the record, but that’s neither here nor there.  Any uneducated fan watching this movie in the future is not going to understand the meaning of it.  I know, I know I wasn’t there to witness it either..but at least I understand the significance.  There were two guys on the same damn team that could have broken a record that was 30-40 years old.  That’s crazy…and that’s without steroids.  Which leads me to my next point.  Watching “Big Mac” on the podium at the end of the movie almost made me sick.  To think that Maris was getting booed by his own freakin’ fans while trying to break this record, and now here comes Hulk Hogan ready to tarnish the record.  Not too  mention that Slammin’ Sammy destroyed the record that same year…and two more times in his career.  I can’t believe no one realized this in ’98.  We all thought it was the greatest thing ever.  Me included.  I had(have) about 3 T-Shirts and a couple of plaques celebrating the achievement.  But if I had the chance to hop in Doc’s DeLorean and travel back to 1998, I would have no problem just going up to either one of them and calling B.S. right to their huge arms and their shrunken balls.  Is that gay?  That’s not gay.  But yeah, don’t even get me started on that Bonds guy.  Disgrace.  Maris is the single season record holder with 61 home runs, and Hank Aaron is the career holder with 755.  Thank you and good night.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What a Shame

  1. Corleto Bob says:

    In total agreement – and to think that Commissioner Ford Frick had an asterik next to Maris’ record because he set the record in a 162 game season as opposed to a 154 season that Ruth played in. I remember the home run race that season and the papers (for me it was the Toledo Times or something like that) made a big deal about Maris having “only” 59 after the 154th game of the season. Maris was treating unfairly in 1961 and I agree he was treated unfairly in 1998 by those steroid freaks.

Leave a Reply

